Why I don’t want you to “like” my Facebook posts…

Lori King Books

Recently, a reader asked me if she’s helping me by “liking” all of my posts on Facebook, and sadly, I had to tell her that she wasn’t. What’s that you say?

Most FB users have come to think of the “like” button of FB as an acknowledgement of sorts. I saw your post – LIKE. I agree with you – LIKE. I support you – LIKE. I haven’t fallen off the face of the planet – LIKE.

Because “liking” has become so routine, that in essence it means nothing these days. Facebook’s algorithms are picky. They’re looking for engagement, but that doesn’t include likes. They’re looking for comments, discussions, and shares. The more comments and shares a post gets, the more often it will be shown in your friends timelines so that they can add to the discussion.

Customer Audience Engagement People Connected Arrows

So if I post a teaser and Stacy comments on it, FB…

View original post 311 more words

6 thoughts on “Why I don’t want you to “like” my Facebook posts…

    1. People get so used to scrolling and clicking. Not many look past the image or read more than the first few words. So you have to make it work in a tenth of a second, otherwise it is scrolled past and you are lucky to even get a like!

      Like

  1. Trish Nielson

    Love this, I have always thought of the like as dessert. READ it and then, like it or leave it. I did like this

    On Sat, Jun 18, 2016 at 1:12 PM, Ramblings from a writers mind wrote:

    > paulznewpostbox posted: ” ” >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I felt like its more of a validation for others to see that their posts are liked on social media. It is showing that they have done a good job in that particular post itself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

