Today I watched the sun rise.

11349_10152351374166706_7942698941483379908_n

As the sun rose and the darkness faded the sky took on a burnished amber hue.

Birds started to welcome the dawn with the melody of their chorus.

I breathed in the sharp crispness of the morning air and looked up, a few wispy clouds hung motionless in the stratosphere.

It was such a fresh, bright morning that I predictably recalled the hymn ‘Morning has broken’; in this instance my mind heard it being sung by Cat Stevens. I half consciously found myself humming along, out of tune of course!

This was soon followed by the voice of Bob Marley and ‘Three little birds’. I smiled inwardly as realised that both of these

hqdefaultvoices were inside my head; and wondered why on earth we become so full of angst when someone admits to hearing voices in their own minds, or indeed fearful if they inhabit our own?

This morning as the sun rose higher, and the amber tones dissipated to reveal a azure blue sky, I found that I was comforted by the voices I heard singing to me.

Regardless of the scientific, cognitive or physiological explanations, of which I do not give one iota of care for at this time, I was quite amused by my own insight of this experience; which is as a writer I constantly think, in the words of ‘Arthur’ (Dudley Moore), ‘Funny things that make me laugh’!

This was one of those times when even lateral thinking was unable to keep up with the speed of the random leaping of my thoughts. I have coined a personal term for this, I refer to it as ‘Geometric Surging’.

I love it, because this is where all the odd ball, wild, whacky and seemingly unconnected notions, concepts, opinions and theories somehow find common ground, which allows them to become authentic and viable concepts. This is one state of mind where many of my inspirational stimuli collected from far and wide, over periods of time meld into solid ideas. All that is needed is a moment of ambiance, of atmosphere which can induce the right frame of mind.

Today it was watching the sun rise.

Thank you for reading.

I have a ‘Showcase’ page on my website, please feel free to visit.

© Paul White 2014

http://paulznewpostbox.wix.com/paul-white-writer

3 thoughts on “Today I watched the sun rise.

Leave a Reply

